Foundations

established in 1991 on the basis of a decision of the Council of ministers (1990), later embodiment in the Product safety Act (PsG 2004), is formally a special committee of the Presidential Council of Austrian Standards International. The Office of the Consumer Council operated by the Austrian Consumer Association (VKI)

Goals

To defend consumer interests in national, european and international standardisation bodies and vis-à-vis the legislator.

Chair of the Consumer Council

Christian Kornherr - Chair of the Consumer Council

Dipl.Ing. Christian Kornherr - Austrian Consumer Association

Head of the Office of the Consumer Council

Franz Fiala - Head of the office of the Consumer Council

Dipl. Ing. Dr. Franz Fiala

Assistant

Ulli Matzek

Members

Austrian Consumer Association

Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs, Health and Consumer Protection

Federal Chamber of Labour

Organisation of the Austrian Disability Associations

Austrian Road Safety Board — Department of Home, Leisure & Sports

Address

VERBRAUCHERRAT — CONSUMER COUNCIL
Austrian Standards International
Heinestraße 38
1020 Wien
Austria
Tel: +43 1 21300 711
f.fiala@verbraucherrat.at

The Consumer Council at Austrian Standards International was established in 1991 with the aim to represent consumer interests in national, European and international standards bodies. It is funded by the Federal Ministry of Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection.

Logo Austrian Standards
Logo Ministry

The Consumer Council does not only deal with standardisation but also with legislation in technical fields - particularly where both areas are closly linked. And this is more and more the case.

In accordance with the so-called “New Approach” often only general protection goals are laid down in EU directives. The complementary technical specifications are drawn up by the European standards bodies such as CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation), CENELEC (Comité Européen de Normalisation Electrotechnique) and ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) in the form of harmonised European standards based on mandates by the Commission. As a result of this approach frequently decisions on matters relevant to the consumers are taken within the framework of European standardisation.

Increasingly the preparation of standards is shifted to the international level. European specifications are often based on standards produced by ISO (International Organization for Standardization), IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) or ITU (International Telecommunication Union).

This site uses cookies. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings of your browser or opting out here, you agree to the use of cookies. More information about our privacy policy.×

Grundlage

Gründung 1991 auf Basis eines Ministerrats­beschlusses (1990), später Verankerung im Produkt­sicherheitsgesetz (PsG 2004), ist formell ein Sonder­ausschuss des Präsidialrats von Austrian Standards International (ASI), das Büro des Verbraucherrats wird vom Verein für Konsumenteninformation (VKI) betrieben.

Ziel

Die Interessen der Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten in nationalen, europäischen und internationalen Normungsgremien und gegenüber dem Gesetzgeber zu vertreten.

Vorsitz des Verbraucherrates

Dr. Christian Kornherr Verein für Konsumenteninformation

Leiter des Büros des Verbraucherrats

Dipl. Ing. Dr. Franz Fiala

Assistentin

Ulli Matzek

Mitglieder

Verein für Konsumenteninformation

Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Soziales und Konsumentenschutz

Bundesarbeitskammer

Österreichischer Behindertenrat

Kuratorium für Verkehrssicherheit – Bereich Heim, Freizeit & Sport

Adresse

VERBRAUCHERRAT — CONSUMER COUNCIL
Austrian Standards International
Heinestraße 38
1020 Wien
Tel: +43 1 21300 711
f.fiala@verbraucherrat.at

Der Verbraucherrat bei Austrian Standards International wurde 1991 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Interessen der Konsumenten in nationalen, europäischen und internationalen Normungsgremien zu vertreten. Er wird vom Bundesministerium für Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz finanziert.

Der Verbraucherrat befasst sich aber nicht nur mit Normung, sondern auch mit Gesetzgebung im technischen Bereich - insbesondere dort, wo es eine enge Verzahnung zwischen den beiden Bereichen gibt. Und das ist immer öfter der Fall.

Entsprechend der so genannten „neuen Konzeption“ werden heute in der EU vielfach nur noch allgemeine Schutzziele in Richtlinien festgelegt. Die ergänzenden technischen Spezifikationen werden von den europäischen Normungsinstitutionen CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation), CENELEC (Comité Européen de Normalisation Electrotechnique) und ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) in Form von harmonisierten europäischen Normen auf der Grundlage von Mandaten der Kommission erstellt. Als eine Folge dieses Konzepts werden zahlreiche verbraucherrelevante Entscheidungen im Rahmen der europäischen Normung getroffen.

In zunehmenden Ausmaß wird die Erarbeitung von Normen auf die internationale Ebene verlagert. Häufig stützen sich europäische Spezifikationen auf Normen, welche von ISO (International Organization for Standardization), IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) oder ITU (International Telecommunication Union) produziert werden.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Wenn Sie diese Website nutzen, ohne die Cookie-Einstellungen Ihres Browsers zu ändern oder hier einen Opt-Out-Cookie zu setzen, stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Nähere Informationen zum Datenschutz.×