The Consumer Council at the Austrian Standards Institute was established in 1991 with the aim to represent consumer interests in national, European and international standards bodies. It is funded by the Federal Ministry of Labour, Social Affairs and Consumer Protection.

Austrian Standards LogoBMASK Logo

The Consumer Council does not only deal with standardisation but also with legislation in technical fields - particularly where both areas are closly linked. And this is more and more the case.

A folder describes some of the most important present and past projects of the Consumer Council. This brochure is available as PDF-file.

Additional Information

In accordance with the so-called “New Approach” often only general protection goals are laid down in EU directives. The complementary technical specifications are drawn up by the European standards bodies such as CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation), CENELEC (Comité Européen de Normalisation Electrotechnique) and ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) in the form of harmonised European standards based on mandates by the Commission. As a result of this approach frequently decisions on matters relevant to the consumers are taken within the framework of European standardisation.

Increasingly the preparation of standards is shifted to the international level. European specifications are often based on standards produced by ISO (International Organization for Standardization), IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) or ITU (International Telecommunication Union).

Herzlich Willkommen

Der Verbraucherrat am Austrian Standards Institute wurde 1991 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Interessen der Konsumenten in nationalen, europäischen und internationalen Normungsgremien zu vertreten. Er wird vom Bundesministerium für Arbeit, Soziales und Konsumentenschutz finanziert.

Austrian Standards LogoBMASK Logo

Der Verbraucherrat befasst sich aber nicht nur mit Normung, sondern auch mit Gesetzgebung im technischen Bereich - insbesondere dort, wo es eine enge Verzahnung zwischen den beiden Bereichen gibt. Und das ist immer öfter der Fall.

Ein Folder beschreibt einige der wichtigsten gegenwärtigen und vergangenen Projekte des Verbraucherrats. Diese Broschüre gibt es als PDF-Datei.

Weiterführende Information

Entsprechend der so genannten „neuen Konzeption“ werden heute in der EU vielfach nur noch allgemeine Schutzziele in Richtlinien festgelegt. Die ergänzenden technischen Spezifikationen werden von den europäischen Normungsinstitutionen CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation), CENELEC (Comité Européen de Normalisation Electrotechnique) und ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) in Form von harmonisierten europäischen Normen auf der Grundlage von Mandaten der Kommission erstellt. Als eine Folge dieses Konzepts werden zahlreiche verbraucherrelevante Entscheidungen im Rahmen der europäischen Normung getroffen.

In zunehmenden Ausmaß wird die Erarbeitung von Normen auf die internationale Ebene verlagert. Häufig stützen sich europäische Spezifikationen auf Normen, welche von ISO (International Organization for Standardization), IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) oder ITU (International Telecommunication Union) produziert werden.